New to Babe Ruth League? Visit our resource page
Learn more About Babe Ruth League
Babe Ruth League

Answers to Quiz

Answers to Quiz 

  1. True.  Per Rule 7.02, in order to correct a base running mistake or bad call by an official, a runner must return to his original base, touching each base in reverse order.
  2. False.  Per Rule 2.00, a player only has to prove that he has complete control of the ball to be considered a catch, regardless of time of possession.  It is up to the umpire to make a designation in situations where a catch is challenged.
  3. True.  Rule 5.09 states, “If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base.  If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base.
  4. No.  The runner can turn either way, in fair territory or foul, to return to first base.  However, this right to immunity is immediately forfeited upon any act which, in the umpire’s judgment, indicates the batter-runner will try for second base.  (Rule 7.08j)
  5. When a batter steps out of the batter’s box, he should ask the umpire to call “Time.”  If the request is not made, the umpire is under no obligation to stop play.  A batter’s request for “Time” should be ignored if the pitcher has started his windup or begun his pitching motion.  If the pitch is made, the umpire shall call “Ball” or “Strike” as the case may be.  The rule is designed to eliminate time-consuming delays and to prevent the batter from unnecessarily rattling the pitcher.  (6.02b)
  6. No. Once a batter-runner enters the dugout in such a situation, he is automatically out.  Had he recognized his mistake before reaching the dugout steps, he could have tried for first base.  (7.08a-Approved Ruling)
  7. The run is legal since the third out is not a force play.  The run scored long before the third out was made.  (4.09a, 7.08d)
  8. The appeal should be upheld.  The runner cannot return to touch a missed base after succeeding runners have legally touched the plate.  This represents the third out, so no runs count.  (7.10b-Approved Ruling, 7.12)
  9. The ball is dead as soon as the bullpen catcher touches it.  The umpire must use his judgment in awarding the runners and batter the number of bases he thinks they would have made if the interference had not occurred.  (3.15)
  10. Yes.  A pitcher is not permitted to throw to an unoccupied base from either the windup or set positions unless there is a play at that base.  A balk should be called.  (8.05d)
Babe Ruth Baseball Babe Ruth Softball Xtreme Fastpitch Cal Ripken Bambino Buddyball